April 28, 1999, 8 p.m.
Historische Halle Nationalgalerie im Hamburger Bahnhof Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin

Invalidenstraße 50-51, 10557 Berlin Tiergarten

May 4, 1999, 8 p.m.
Forum Kunst- und Ausstellungshalle der Bundesrepublik Deutschland

Museumsmeile Bonn, Friedrich-Ebert-Allee 4


Annika Thiel, Concertmaster
Directed by Christian von Borries

Albert Breier – harmonium

Annika Thiel – first violin
Hyun-Jung Kim – second violin
Isabell Müller – viola
Adelheid Schloemann – cello


Photo: Johannes Zappe


Excerpts from
opus 19 & opus 20 – Requiem (1985–88)
for harmonium (premiere)

Notation for harmonium by Hanne Darboven
additional melody part composed by Friedrich Stoppa
Musical quotation: Toccata et Fuga in D minor (J.S. Bach)

Excerpts from
opus 26 – Quartett (1989/90)
for string quartet

Transcription by Friedrich Stoppa for 2 violins, viola, and violoncello

opus 38 a & opus 38 b – Symphonie (1991–)
for chamber orchestra (premiere)

Transcription by Friedrich Stoppa for 2 flutes, oboe, 2 clarinets, bassoon,
horn, harmonium, 4 violins, viola, 2 violoncellos and double bass

Hanne Darboven was born in Munich in 1941 and has lived for many years in Hamburg. Since the end of the 1960s, she has worked with numerical additions based on calendar dates, which she writes out in drawings and books and presents in wall- and spatial installations. She began to translate the numerical constructions that underlie her visual works into musical structures in 1979. Darboven reconfigures certain calendrical numerals into tones and musical notations, some of which are later transcribed into instrumental parts and conventional musical scores by the musician Friedrich Stoppa.
Hanne Darboven describes how closely her artistic work is related to music: »My systems are numerical concepts that work in terms of progressions and/or reductions, akin to musical themes with variations.«

Of the musical works by Hanne Darboven presented in this program, »opus 19 & opus 20« is based on various computations of digital sums of this century – calculations using the dates 1.1.00 to 31.12.99. »opus 26« is based on the numerical constructions that result from taking apart the numbers 1 to 99. The performance of these selected pieces makes it possible to acoustically experience the various numerical systems written out by the artist in her visual artistic works. Presented here in excerpts, the works »opus 19 & opus 20« refer directly to her »Requiem« (1971–1985), which consists of some 45,000 pages in 61 x 2 books and contains quotes from both literature and from Johann Sebastian Bach's »Toccata et Fuga in D minor«. The inclusion of pieces composed over the years for harmonium or organ, for string quartet and for chamber orchestra offers insight into the full spectrum of Hanne Darboven's musical oeuvre.


20 years Works of Music by Visual Artists

Cevdet Erek

Architectural construction with sound & performance

October 19, 2019 – March 8, 2020
Opening: October 18, 2019, 7 p.m.
Concerts & performances in the exhibition: November 2019, January – March 2020

Hamburger Bahnhof
Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin / Historic Hall
Staatliche Museen zu Berlin
Invalidenstraße 50-51, 10557 Berlin
Tue, Wed, Fri 10–6,
Thu 10–8, Sat,
Sun 11–6

> more


Ingrid Buschmann, Gerd de Vries, Gabriele Knapstein, Matthias Osterwold


Press release


The concert in Berlin was made possible by Verein der Freunde der Nationalgalerie.
It was part of the program for the exhibition
»Das XX. Jahrhundert – Ein Jahrhundert Kunst in Deutschland«.